What’s It Like To Move Abroad

Hola les amigos,

Born in a small town near Paris, I had never lived abroad alone until my 20’s where I decided to go study in Montréal. After three years of hard work, I obtained my bachelor of arts and wanted to discover Vancouver. When Montréal had been pretty easy being a French-speaking province, my journey in the West has been the hardest time of my life. And somehow, I don’t regret one bit of it. Here’s what no one tells you about moving abroad.

The Paperwork Is Going To Kill You

You’re gonna see your true motivation when discovering the giant world of foreign administration. There are so many informations, papers needed and contradictions while most of the time you can’t even reach someone to help you. You’re gonna feel like it’s not worth it and you might as well give up. Don’t. When in doubt, go on Pinterest, check everything you’re gonna be able to visit, taste, smell and enjoy.

paper

 

Forget About Budget Planning

You are probably thinking that you can do a budget for all your spending and trust me, you can’t. Between deposits, the expenses of moving in and trying to discover your new city, it is almost impossible to predict how much you’re gonna spend. It’s always more than you expected. Try to think about the long-run and not spend everything in new restaurants or shopping.

passport-and-money

 

Take Your Time

As paperworks are long and taking that big decision as well, know how to take your time. Moving is very exciting but it’s nothing like traveling for a short-time. If you’re thinking about it seriously, try to start saving money. Trust me there, I have made the mistake of going to Vancouver thinking like an adventurer but didn’t realized how hard it would be to find a job. Finally, I’ve ran out of time and must go back to France. So, my best advice for you is to do everything in order and don’t skip steps or you might fall as hard as I did.

savings

 

Find a Job Before Moving

Or at least, study the job market. People are often gonna email you back saying that you must be in the city to get an interview. In that case, too bad for them but don’t move out before finding a job or you will be stressed, depressed if it takes time. Not being able to pay your rent or food is a pretty stressful situation (french sarcasm there). Euphémisme as we say in french. So contact them and explain your situation, try to get a skype interview. It’s 2017 guys. And like I said, study the job market. Sometimes, the requirements for a job are very hard to meet. Make sure to be what they are looking for and mostly what you are looking for.

flying-abroad-1500x430

 

Don’t Be Afraid To Give Up

Moving abroad is hard. Everybody will tell you even if you probably already know. Beside missing your family, your friends, your culture or your food, it’s not easy to fit in. These past weeks, I didn’t get replies for the job I wanted, I lost a lot of money for trying, of patience and time. It has put a lot of pressure on my partner and myself, almost to the point of breaking up. For a long time, I felt like a failure and wasn’t ready to give up on my dream. I wanted to succeed in Vancouver and did not. But you might. And even if you don’t, learn to take a step back, stay positive about it and think about it as an experience. There’s gonna be tears, sweat and blood but at the end, you’ll learn. Don’t be afraid to admit you made a mistake. People are always gonna be happy to see you back home.

home

 

Keep in mind that this is my personal experience and other succeed where you fail. I may not have found a job here but at least I have tried. There is always something next. And if you can’t find it, create it, get your head into projects.

 

Leave a Reply

